Dordt College News

Concert Choir to perform on January 18

January 4, 2013

The Dordt College Concert Choir will present a concert at 7:30 p.m., Friday, January 18, in the B.J. Haan Auditorium.

This free concert is the conclusion of their tour through the heartland, with performances held in Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, and Iowa.

The 52-person choir will perform a variety of pieces under the direction of Dr. Benjamin Kornelis. Freewill donations received will help defray tour expenses.

Dordt College has approximately 300 U.S. and international students who participate in the music program, with opportunities to perform in four choral groups, two orchestras, and three bands. Music scholarships are available to qualified students.

Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, is a comprehensive Christian college rooted in the Reformed tradition. U.S. News & World Report,, Washington Monthly, and Princeton Review all list Dordt on their best colleges lists. At Dordt, 98 percent of enrolled students receive financial aid, thanks in part to generous alumni committed to the mission of the college. Dordt offers more than 90 programs of study to a student body of approximately 1,400 annually.

Concert Choir members: CALIFORNIA: Joel Pasma (Ripon) COLORADO: Jon Hageman (Highlands Ranch) ILLINOIS: Matt DeJong (Lansing) INDIANA: Lydia Kreykes (Saint John) IOWA: Austin De Boer (Boyden), Craig Disselkoen (Cedar Rapids), Lisa Smith (Cedar Rapids), Rachel Kooiman (Doon), Allison Vellema (Harris), Caitlin Bronkhorst (Hawarden), Kailee Vander Wilt (Hospers), Brittany Arkema, Maria Bouwkamp, Devin Veenstra (Pella), Alex Pasker (Runnels), Chris Geels (Sheldon), Micah Kreykes (Sheldon), Sam De Groot, Alena De Young, Brian De Young, Nathan Friend, Dylan Hoekstra, Mia Kornelis, Tia Nieuwsma, Emil Talen, Karisa Talen, Cody Vander Berg (Sioux Center), Amanda Donnell (Sioux City) MICHIGAN: Carolyn Van Der Aa (Byron Center), MINNESOTA: Anna Vanden Akker (Leota), Jacob Miller (Prinsburg), Jared Goedhart (Rochester), Anderson Clare (Villard) NEBRASKA: Jeremy Kasik (Columbus), Jahn Kuiper (Gretna), Mitch Johnson, Jacob Richards (Omaha) SOUTH DAKOTA: Leanna Bentz, Peter Kuipers (Platte), Haeley Dirksen (Sioux Falls), Katie Watt (Yankton) WASHINGTON: Dirk Anker (Lynden), TJ Van Weerdhuizen (Sumas) WISCONSIN: Kristina Haan (Delavan), Rachel Meinen, Hannah Te Winkel (Oostburg), Alex Geleynse, Thomas Venhuizen (Waupun) CANADA: Joanna Bevaart (Lacombe, Alberta), Janine Vis (Smithers, British Columbia), Anna Visser (Ingersoll, Ontario), Derek Visser (Ingersoll, Ontario), Natalie Vreeken (Warman, Saskatchewan).

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1