Dordt College News

Dordt College band and orchestra performance on Mar. 22

March 11, 2013

The Dordt College Concert Band and Chamber Orchestra will perform a concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 22, in the B.J. Haan Auditorium. A reception will follow in the Campus Center with refreshments and additional performances by four chamber ensembles.

This free concert is the conclusion of a spring tour with performances in South Dakota, Montana, Alberta, Washington, Idaho, and Colorado.

The two instrumental groups will perform a variety of pieces under the direction of Bradley Miedema. The band will perform works by Gustav Holst, Johann Sebastian Bach, Adam Gorb, and more. The orchestra will perform pieces by William Boyce, William Walton, Norman Dello Joio, and more. Freewill donations will be received to help defray tour expenses.

Dordt College has approximately 300 U.S. and international students who participate in the music program, with opportunities to perform in four choral groups, two orchestras, and three bands. Music scholarships are available to qualified students.

Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, is a comprehensive Christian college rooted in the Reformed tradition. U.S. News & World Report,, Washington Monthly, and Princeton Review all list Dordt on their best colleges lists. At Dordt, 98 percent of enrolled students receive financial aid, thanks in part to generous alumni committed to the mission of the college. Dordt offers more than 90 programs of study to a student body of approximately 1,400.

Concert Band members: ALBERTA, CANADA: Brittany Houweling. CALIFORNIA: Jessica McCarty COLORADO: Austin Herrema, Shelby Herrema, Alison Lammers, and Darin Lammers. ILLINOIS:  Rebecca Megchelsen. IOWA: Jon Bierma, Mark Dadisman, Abigail Davis, Craig Disselkoen, Amanda Donnell, Holly Enerson, Stephanie Fynaardt, Michael Groenenboom, Christina Harbaugh, Kolette Heynen, Tayler Hoekstra, Ashley Huisman, Jacquelyn Jacobsma, Stacie Kammerer, Dorinda Krause, Christina Lloyd, Nicole Low, Ruth Mahaffy, Monica McConnel, Joshua Nymeyer, Aubrey Pasker, Kristen Raygor, Evan Schroeder, John Stam, Jason Stuhrenberg, Daniel Sutter, Emil Talen, Annalesha Vande Griend, Rachel Vande Griend, Devin Veenstra, and Micah Wamala. MINNESOTA: Katherine Argo, Karina Fast, Megan Ludens, Jenna Petersen, Lael Radde, and Alec Woods. NEBRASKA: Danielle DeBoer and Lindsey Push. SOUTH DAKOTA: Leanna Bentz, Lillie Koerner, and Peter Kuipers. WASHINGTON: Janna Mulder.

Chamber Orchestra members: ALBERTA, CANADA: Joelle Lieuwen. ARIZONA: Nathan Cassaro. GWANG-JU, SOUTH KOREA: Jinny Seo. IOWA: Faith Bierma, Janelle Bolkema, Ranae Boonstra, Sarah De Smith, Emily Friend, Nathan Friend, Stephanie Fynaardt, Ashley Huisman, Christina Lloyd, Nicole Low, Monica McConnel, James Rylaarsdam, Anna Slegers, Ema Van Donselaar, Hannah Van Maanen, Madeline Wesselius, and Kayla Zwart. MICHIGAN: Makenzie Koeman and Nathanael Vruwink. NEBRASKA: Abigael Olson. SOUTH DAKOTA: Maggie Drexler and Lillie Koerner. WASHINGTON: Janna Mulder

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1