Dordt College News

Prairie Grass Film Challenge winners are announced

April 4, 2014

Dordt College’s eighth annual Prairie Grass Film Challenge drew teams from as far away as California, Colorado, and Missouri, and as near as Sioux Center, Orange City, and Hull, to compete in a wild 48-hour (sleep optional) filmmaking challenge.

Cash, prizes, and the coveted “Dordty” award were given to the winners of five categories: best of high school, best of college, best of post college, best of show (overall), and people’s choice.

All films can be viewed online.

Best of High School
UUU Productions (Western Christian High School) for All American Metal Chef. Team members: Sam Fessler, Jacquelyn Geels, Nick Geels, PJ Kooima, Garth Van Donselaar, Aaron Van Middendorp, Kyle Vander Plaats, Jessica Walvoort

Best of College – resulted in a tie
Food Fight Club Productions (Dordt College) for Cake. Team members: Jayson Korthuis, Sara de Waal, Justin Gloudemans, Darin Lammers, Kyle Dykema

Good Enuf Productions (Northwest Missouri State) for Rock Bottom. Team members: Jacob Hayworth, Michael Roberts, Caleb Hayworth

Best of Post College
Paragon Productions (Dordt College Alumni) for Survival of the Fittest. Team members: Jesse Brauning

Best of Show
Northwestern Red Raters (Northwestern College Alumni) for Pants Rack. Team members: Drew Schmidt, Lem Maurer, Matt Latchaw

People’s Choice
Secret Spot Productions (Dordt College) for Phil the Garbage Man. Team members: Nathan Walter, Domenic Vermeulen, Dan Woudenberg, Courtney De Wolde, Ian Veenstra

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1