Archived Voice Articles

Distinguished Scholar recipients named

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients have been selected for the 2005-2006 school year. Seven seniors from across the United States were selected for this honor and the accompanying scholarships. Elaine Hannink, Modesto, California; Heather Hooyer, Sioux Center; Ashley Kasper, Lansing, Illinois; Sarah Sikkema, Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada; Justin Vander Schaaf, Baraboo, Wisconsin; Julie Verwoerd, Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada; and Elizabeth Walters, Gardner, Kansas.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt’s Office of Scholarships and Grants. Each $9,000 scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman applicant based on his or her cumulative high school G.P.A., his or her score on ACT/SAT exams, and by means of an essay written during Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February. This year forty-seven applicants met eligibility standards for this scholarship, which are a minimum 3.75 grade point average and a score of 30 or higher on the ACT.

The scholarship awarded to these students is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.