Archived Voice Articles

Dordt College Distinguished Scholar recipients

Seven seniors from across the United States have been selected to receive a Distinguished Scholar Award at Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa. Recipients of this scholarship award for the 20062007 academic year are Kristen Brands, Sioux Falls, South Dakota; Joel Bruxvoort, Pella, Iowa; Kristina De Graaf, Marshall, Minnesota; David Dick, McBain, Michigan; Katherine M. Du Mez, Brookfield, Wisconsin; Michael C. Olthoff, Sioux Center, Iowa; and Joel Veldkamp, Cumming, Iowa.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt’s Office of Scholarships and Grants. Each $9,000 scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman applicant based on his or her cumulative high school G.P.A., his or her score on ACT/SAT exams, and an essay he or she writes during Distinguished Scholar Day activities at Dordt College in February. This year sixty-two applicants met eligibility standards for this scholarship, which are a minimum 3.75 grade point average and a score of 30 or higher on the ACT. The scholarship awarded to these students is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.